RAMAKRISHNA MISSION LP & UP SCHOOL, MAWTHANG VILLAGE-MAWTHANG District-East Khasi Hills Meghalaya



History of Ramakrishna Mission LP & UP School Wahlong-Mawthang

Mawthang: New land for school construction

The history of the school since the inception of LP section was started on April 1964. It was in 1964; the then the Secretary of Ramakrishna Mission Sohra Ashram came to our village (Wahlong) and approached the then Sirdar for giving permission to open the UP Section or upgrade the LP Section to UP Section i.e. to Class VI, the Sirdar accepted. So, on 10 June 1964, the UP Section was started in the residence of Mr. O. BLICKSTONE LAITIAM. Later the school was shifted to Mr PERNO MALNGIANG residence, for a few months before the completion of the school building i.e. in 1965.

At the beginning the LP Section was hidden from the rules and norms of the Assam Government because the Govt. LP School was already presented in our village. As per the rules of those time the government did not permitted to open more than one LP School in the same village.

Person responsible/stared the school: -

- 1) Rev. Swami Suddhabodhanandaji The Secretary R.K.M Ashram Sohra
- 2) Mr. L.B. Nongkynrih The Sirdar of Elaka Wahlong
- *3) Mr. Perno Malngiang E.C Member and House owner*
- 4) Mr. O. Blickstone Laitiam House owner
- 5) Mr. K. Francis Lyngskor Village Member and Asst. Teacher
- 6) Mr. Narayan Majaw Village Member and House owner

But, within this year i.e. 2024 under the management of the secretary R.K. Mission Ashram Sohra Rev. Swami Anuraganandaji, the village Durbar of Wahlong Sirdarship donated a new land free of cost, to the Mission for the construction of new school building.

Person concerned for this are: -

- 1) Swami Anuraganandaji Secretary RKM Ashram Sohra
- 2) Mr. Nasterfield Rymmai Sirdar of Elaka Wahlong
- 3) Mr. Kloinsing Kharmalki Secreatry of Elaka Wahlong
- 4) Mr. Banful Kharbamon Headman
- 5) Mr. Risawlang Kynta EC Member
- 6) Mr. Andrew Khongkhnian EC Member
- 7) Mr. Shembhalang K.Rymmai EC Member
- 8) Mr. Budlang Allya EC Member
- 9) Mr. Hamarbasuk Dkhar EC Member and Land owner

Head Master/Head Teacher till date:-

| Sl. No | LP Section | Year |
|--------|---|----------------|
| 1 | Mr. O Blickstone Laitiam | 1964-1986 |
| 2 | Mr Balford Roy Dkhar | 1986-1992 |
| 3 | Mrs. Aidabahun Warkon | 1992-1995 |
| 4 | Mrs Iohtimora Kynta | 1995-2016 |
| 5 | Mrs Sweet Kharmalki | 2016-2023 |
| 6 | Mrs Charity Khonjoh | 2023-till date |
| Sl. No | UP Section | Year |
| 1 | Mr Edin Son Blah | 1964-1967 |
| 2 | Mr O R Shullai | 1967-1973 |
| 3 | Mr J D Kynta | 1973-2011 |
| 4 | Mrs Subhani Thapa | 2011-2016 |
| 5 | From 2016 onwards the UP Section was in charged by Mrs Aidabahun Warkon | |

Up gradation is done according to the Government norms:-

| Sections | Year | Classes |
|----------|--------------|--------------------------------|
| | 1964-1994 | Class-A (Nursery) to Class-Ill |
| | 1995-2011 | Class Nursery to Class IV |
| | 2012-onwards | Nursery to Class V |
| UP | 1964-1994 | Class IV to Class VI |
| | 1995-2011 | Class V to Class VII |
| | 2012 onwards | Class VI to Class |

Opening Permission: -

Both UP and LP sections got the recognition in the year 1975. It was during the term of Mr Passah, the Deputy Inspector of School Sohra, East Khasi Hills District Meghalaya.

The UDISE CODE of LP & UP Sections:

1. LP Section - 17060612501

2. UP Section- 17060603203

Government Grants:-

The school is under the management of the R.K. Mission Ashram Sohra. Salary of Teachers: -

I. LP Section Salary comes from the Central government grant

II. UP Section Salary comes from the state government (Adhoc grant)

The R.K. Mission Sohra provides Midday Meal to the students, free textbook and uniforms.

Parents paid only a small amount of money for the whole academic year. The fee collected is known as Development fee.

School Building:-

The school building was constructed by Ramakrishna Mission Ashram Sohra. Till date the school has only 5 rooms, four classrooms and one common room. It is still a shift school. The LP section started at 7:00 AM in the morning upto 10:20 AM. The UP Section started at 10:20 AM till 3:50 PM.

Important Alumni:-

The most important Alumni of the UP Mawthang School:-

- i. Mr. Taining Dkhar—IAS Officer, Deputed as the Deputy Commissioner of Jaintia Hills District
- *ii.* Mr Jrop Sing Nongkhlaw Ex-Project Director of DRDA, East Khasi Hills District, Govt. of Meghalaya.

The other ex-students employed in various department are:-

- iii. Mr Klinet Nongbri Officer in Secretariat, Govt. of Meghalaya (Retired)
- iv. Mr. Phlanstone Kshiar-Officer in MPRO, Williamnagar, Govt. of Meghalaya (Retired)
- v. Mr Hamarbamut Dkhar DSP Shillong (Retired)
- vi. Mrs Bonsilin Rymmai Accountant in AG Office, Shillong (Retired)
- vii. Mrs Grantiful Marbaniang MA (English) Deficit School teacher (Retired)
- viii. Mrs Mebadarilin Rymmai MSc (Environment) & M.Ed, CCTC Teacher, Sohra
- ix. Ms Christine Khongioh MA (Philosophy), Lecturer in Morningstar College, Nongthymmai
- x. Ms Geraldeen Khongjoh MA (Khasi) School Teacher
- xi. Mrs Shailiba Khongkhnian MA (Khasi), School Teacher
- xii. Mr Chesterfield K. Rymmai MSc (Biochemistry), Dept. of Post, Sohra Mil.
- xiii. Ms Baribha War LLB (Passes)

ନ୍ଧାର୍ଚନାର୍ଚନାର୍ଯ୍ୟର୍ଭ ଭାରଣ